First post!

Hello everyone!

For those of you who stalk me on Facebook, you know by now that I’ve resigned from my postion as the Assistant News Editor at the Nevada Sagebrush a few hours ago. I don’t want to go into the details because I don’t believe in dwelling on the past, so here’s what I want to do for the future.

  • Begin blogging: Because this is my own personal blog, I’m not hindered by any page constraints, word counts or specific topics. I love sports, design, and learning about journalism, and I want to share all everything that I find. I’ll be rolling out some daily and weekly features soon.
  • Original Reporting: Even though I no longer work for a newspaper, that doesn’t mean that I can’t produce original content. I have several ideas for long-form, in-depth stories that I can actually take the time to work on, rather than shambling together a few interviews in time for the weekly deadline.
  • Working toward the future: I do plan to go back to the Sagebrush next semester, so I’ll need to start finding better ways to tell stories, manage a staff and build relationships with future coworkers.

For now, I want to focus on getting a job, helping make my fraternity excellent, stay active on social media and to not become complacent. It’s a cliche by now, but today’s the first step in a new direction for me. And I’m excited.

Leave a Reply

